top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealessandrah1000

My Experience Working at a Local Plant Nursery

My role at the nursery is a little bit of everything, I water plants, run the register, help customers with gardening questions, order merchandise, and stock shelves. The company I work for is a small business, and the people I work for are amazing.


This week, I stocked up the tables with new plants that we got for the week, I also helped a couple find plants that would fit in their sunny front yard, I showed them all the full sun shrubs we had in stock. I also ran the register throughout the day and set people up for deliveries.


One of the biggest challenges I face at this job is having the right answers to all the different gardening questions out there. There is so much to learn in the field of horticulture, and even though I have learned a lot from being there for almost 2 years, I have just scratched the surface.


I have realized that there is always something new to learn, and that all plants have different needs, and gardening is a different experience for everyone. I honestly love the horticulture industry, everyone in the industry is always so happy and being around plants makes it all more fun. One thing I observed this year in the industry is that it has been revived, Covid helped the industry tremendously, everyone was stuck at home during quarantine, and we had a lot of new gardeners come out, but when we had the snow this year, the demand was very high, and our growers did not have enough plants to supply this demand, so this year was very hectic and busy for the local nurseries,


Working at The Garden Center has helped me to figure out what career path I want to go into, I have learned a lot about plants, and have had so much fun doing it, and I want to learn a lot more. One thing I learned about myself during this journey is that I really love learning about trees. I would love to become an arborist, and also become a master gardener, and just help out the community, and spread to joy of gardening with everyone.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page